All ISO standards have ‘Definitions’ as section 3, and ISO 9000:2015 contains over 140 entries within this section.

However, many of the ISO definitions are rather wordy, so here are some abbreviated alternatives:

  • Verified: When inspected, did it meet requirements?
  • Validated: When tested, did it work?
  • Compliance: Meets regulations
    • Non-compliance: Failure to meet regulations
  • Conformance: Meets requirements
    • Non-conformance: Failure to meet requirements
  • Procedure: How a process is executed
  • Process: The action of transforming inputs into outputs
  • Certified: Worthy to receive a certificate
  • Accreditation: Worthy of recognition
  • Effective: Achievement of intended result
  • Efficient: Effective and using the least resources